Page 1
Page 2
Page 3
Page 4
Page 5
Page 6
Page 7
Page 8
Page 9
Page 10
Page 11
Page 12
Page 13
Page 14
Page 15
Page 16
Page 17
Page 18
Page 19
Page 20
Page 21
Page 22
Page 23
Page 24
Page 25
LakeAnnaLifeTimesJuneJuly2015 17 of the main house. After his mothers marriage Lewis Littlepage lived with relatives attend- ed the College of William and Mary travelled to France and Spain and became an advisor to the last King of Poland Stanisaw August Poni- atowski. Lewis returned to Virginia in 1801 and died in 1802 leaving the bulk of his estate to his half-brother Waller Holladay. Waller soon after married his first cousin Huldah Fontaine Lewis and together they raised thirteen children. In 1806 and with his inheritance from Lewis Littlepage Waller built Pros- pect Hill for his growing family. The National Register of Historic Places notes that Prospect Hill survives as one of Spotsylvanias best-preserved 19th century plantation dwellings. Prospect Hill is now known as the Littlepage Inn. Zachary Lewis II had three sons. John Lewis 1784-1858 the middle son according to an article by Virgin- ia Johnson at Librarypoint.org ran a young mens preparatory school at the BelAir Plantation which later became known as the Llangollen school. Ms. Johnson also told LT that although no battles were fought in the immediate area surrounding Law- yers Road the road itself was a val- ued thoroughfare for both armies. Union General Philip Sheridan and his cavalry rode west on Lawyers Road toward the Battle of Trevilians in neighboring Louisa County. After that battle the Union army traveled eastward on Lawyers Road accom- panied by more than a thousand lib- erated slaves. Confederate cavalry followed and many of its horses per- ished in the extreme summer heat. In addition she notes that the part of Route 601 that continues after in- tersecting with Courthouse Road Rt. 208 is called Lewiston Road which is a further testament to the many Lewis family members living in the area. Another well-known Lake Anna landmark exists close to Hailey Mill Road off Ridge Road in the back of Pigeon Run. Named for Haileys gristmill that ground corn from 1857 to 1889 the road connects to Lawyers Road and comes within 100 yards of the old mill dam in the back of the creek. Visitors can access the site from the Mill Pond Trail at the State Park. This .8 mile trail terminates at a historical marker sign explaning that the rocks seen in the water were part of Hailey Mill where people came from all over to grind their corn. The mill was part of Pigeon Plantation named Glenora after the Civil War. 540.894.0215 www.VirginiaGlassman.com Auto Glass Specialist What remains of the Hailey Mill Dam in the back of Pigeon Run at the end of the Mill Pond Trail. fun to At the end of a great lake day what else is see do in Louisa TM MOWINGTRIMMING SPRING FALL AERATION MULCHING FERTILIZING LANDSCAPING LEAF REMOVAL POWER WASHING DOCKS DECK STAINING FREE ESTIMATES INSURED AND BONDED 540.894.0706 804.402.0263 LKALAWNCAREGMAIL.COM POWER WASHING EXPERTS Your Hometown Glass Specialist - Mineral VA Auto Glass Repairs TableTops Mirrors Windows Virginia Glassman GV 540 894.8500 a1windshieldsgmail.com www.a1windshieldsva.com Mobile Service 1904 Davis Hwy. Mineral